hostpros.blogg.se

Epoxy wood slab crack repair video
Epoxy wood slab crack repair video






Third is that some users will have enough knowledge of epoxy to know it discolours (badly) with UV exposure, so a clear epoxy fill will eventually look just plain awful. The related reason is that maybe some users know getting the fill completely bubble-free can be tricky* so they're afraid to try. The first is just because people don't want to make their fills transparent (or to put it another way, they really like coloured fills), at a guess this would account for most of it.

EPOXY WOOD SLAB CRACK REPAIR VIDEO PLUS

Two related reasons I can think of plus a third unrelated. Why is clear epoxy not used? What considerations should go into a decision about whether, and how, to tint? Since it is done so rarely I assume there must be a reason, and don't want to ruin my slab due to my inexperience, so: I've done some googling but in addition to not seeing any examples, I also cannot find any discussion of why tinting is so common. However, I have not been able to find a single example of clear epoxy being used.

epoxy wood slab crack repair video

I was considering using the epoxy without a tint so that the reinforcement is relatively invisible, and went with the 207 hardener for this purpose. It creates a very striking aesthetic effect, but I don't think I want to pull the visual focus away from the wood like that. The thing that has surprised me in the videos I've seen is that all of them use a very dark tint, many going with straight black.

epoxy wood slab crack repair video

I don't like the look of butterfly keys, and I don't believe that this crack needs much reinforcement, but I was going to fill it with West epoxy just in case (and as a way to finally try using it). I've worked with a few live edge slabs in the past, but the one I have now is the first one with a sizable crack.






Epoxy wood slab crack repair video